Election & Voter Information

November 8, 2022 - General Municipal Election

The City of Temecula is a general law city with a five-member legislative body. Each of the five City Council Members are directly elected by the registered voters of their district. The positions of Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore are ceremonial in nature and not directly elected. The City Council selects the Mayor and Mayor Pro Tempore amongst themselves and the positions typically serve a calendar year.

The next general municipal election for the City of Temecula will be held on November 8, 2022 for three Council seats – Districts 1, 3 and 5. Districts 2 and 4 will be voted upon in 2024. 

Click here to add your address and determine which district you live in.

Map of Council District 1:
Click here.

Map of Council District 2: Click here

Map of Council District 3: Click here.

Map of Council District 4: Click here.

Map of Council District 5: Click here.

The nomination period for the November 8, 2022 General Municipal Election will be open in the Summer of 2022. Nomination papers may only be issued during the nomination period. The nomination period is July 18, 2022 – August 12, 2022. If an incumbent does not run, the nomination period will be extended to August 17th. Candidates must be registered voters of their respective districts and nominated by registered voters of their respective districts. Additional information on the process will be available on this page at that time.

To register to vote, check voter status, or learn about how to vote, please click on the icons below. For specific questions, please contact Director of Legislative Affairs/City Clerk Randi Johl or call the City Clerk's Office at (951) 694-6444.


Campaign Contributions

Pursuant to Assembly Bill 571 (Stats. 2019, Ch. 556, AB 571 Mullin), beginning January 1, 2021, the state campaign contribution limit applies to city candidates. The City of Temecula does not have a separate local ordinance regarding contribution limits. Along with the new campaign contribution limit, there are also other related provisions that formerly applied only to state level candidates that now apply to city candidates. The contribution limit applicable to city candidates pursuant to AB 571 is updated biennially for inflation. Contribution limits can be found in Regulation 18545(a)2 of the Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC). The limit for contributions to city candidates subject to AB 571 for 2021-2022 is set at $4,900 per election. Additional AB 571 information can be found on the fact sheet available here.

Campaign filings may be viewed here.